Don’t worry, it’s all in your head!

So when I was first injured I had a doctor that kept trying to convince me that my injury was soft tissue damage and would get better with time. I would go to the appointment he would barely look at me, make me try to touch my toes, and a few other things I couldn’t do and then go, okay I’ll see you in another 2-3 weeks. He’d write a note for my work and send me on my way. It got really frustrating because I knew I wasn’t making the pain up, I knew I wasn’t making the symptoms up, but this doctor was basically telling me I was faking it all.

I recently read an article about pain and cold weather where they said there is no scientific correlation¬†between colder weather and increased pain. Anyone who suffers from joint pain I think would differ with you! Today I woke up and the temps are significantly cooler and my joints hurt, but don’t worry it’s all in my head! The article I was reading said to use heat therapy to help with pain management during cooler weather which is funny since there is no scientific correlation between colder weather and increased pain right? But what do I know? I don’t even get to play a doctor on TV!

I remember sitting in the exam room when the doctor was ready to give up on me because it had been 4 months since I had slipped, I wasn’t getting better, he claimed my MRI was normal and I burst into tears because I hurt and told him this wasn’t normal. Over two years later at least I know what is wrong, but I still burst into tears sometimes because this isn’t normal. Last night my leg hurt so bad I felt like someone kept sticking me with pins. I told the wife to stop with the voodoo doll (totally joking of course!). She was playing a video game and stopped to ask if there was anything she could do, even though she knew there really wasn’t.

I know I joke a lot, I try to laugh through all the pain and spasms, but it’s okay to cry too. Sometimes you have to let it out. I have punched my fair share of pillows and screamed and let it all out because chronic pain isn’t fair, it is crippling and takes over your life. That all being said I don’t lay in bed everyday having a pity party because that doesn’t solve my problems either.

2 thoughts on “Don’t worry, it’s all in your head!

  1. Michelle

    I know how you feel. I was going to the doctor all the time telling him, “Dude, I hurt. Do something”. He did the “normal” tests and said they were normal. He said that I was drug seeking and that I should go to a Psychiatrist. I was so angry. I didn’t want drugs, I want acknowledgement, I wanted help! Finally the psychiatrist recommended I go to a physiatrist. https://trynabpainfreemomma.wordpress.com/2013/08/17/theres-nothing-wrong-with-you/

    Like

    Reply
  2. Michelle

    I know how you feel. I was going to the doctor all the time telling him, “Dude, I hurt. Do something”. He did the “normal” tests and said they were normal. He said that I was drug seeking and that I should go to a Psychiatrist. I was so angry. I didn’t want drugs, I want acknowledgement, I wanted help! Finally the psychiatrist recommended I go to a physiatrist. https://trynabpainfreemomma.wordpress.com/2013/08/17/theres-nothing-wrong-with-you/ Things got much better from there.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

