When I bake, you bake, we bake

One of the things that has really SUUUCCCKED with all this back CRAP is not feeling up to baking and cooking. I am a foodie. I love to cook, I love to bake. I love the house to smell like warm chocolate chip cookies or freshly baked bread. I love to get my kitchen dirty and try new recipes. I love to try something out for the first time and have people to taste test for me. I love being in the kitchen. I grew up helping my Mom cook. She let us help her in the kitchen and I learned a lot of life skills in the kitchen.

For the past 2 years I cook less and less because let’s face it when you are as run down as I am you just don’t want to! Plus often I hurt too much to stand that long. I can’t use the mixer because holding that position puts too much strain on my back or the back and forth from the cabinets to the table, table to the oven, etc is too much to bare. I also have to have someone who can put stuff in the oven and pull it out for me or all bets are off. I can’t bend down to put it in the oven. I can’t bend down to pull it out of the oven. I remember when the first physical therapist asked me what I wanted to do, I said be able to pull things out of the oven, be able to bake, be able to have a normal life again.

Now with the stimulator I am closer to having my Julia Childs life back, but I know I will still have restrictions on bending, lifting, etc, but that’s okay. I am just glad that I am not in as much pain as I have been. Today I woke up in pain, which is normal I got up and turned the stimulator back on. I am still learning to get used to it, my body is still learning to get used to it, and that’s okay. I am getting used to a new normal.

We all have what we consider normal and for me pain is included in my normal. I have asthma and I have a very barky seal like cough that is normal and I have had doctors ask is that normal cough or sick cough because they know. They know that my normal isn’t like most people’s normal. They know that my normal cough doesn’t sound like normal people. I know my body I know what’s normal and what’s not, but when I meet a new doctor having to explain that is hard.

Leave a Reply

