Those first few pain free moments

This morning my wife’s alarm went off and I was lying in bed and I didn’t feel pain. I didn’t  have my stimulator on, I had slept with it off. I had a few minutes where I just laid in bed and enjoyed not being in pain. I probably had a really goofy grin on my face and if anyone came in and looked at me they would have wondered what I was dreaming/thinking about but I really wouldn’t have cared! Then I realized that I was going to have to start my day eventually and I moved…yup that pain free feeling was GONE just like that. So I got up and made my pot of coffee got my breakfast all those normal morning duties. I did turn my stimulator on. I am running a different program today than I have been just to try something different. I have 5 programs, why not use them all?

I like that I have choices and I can switch back and forth any time I want. I also can go up and down in strength as I want/need. This is what I love the most. I get the relief I need when I need it. I remember last year I was frustrated with my medical team because I was in pain and I didn’t want to take the narcotic pain medications, but they did not want me taking the over the counter pain medications because it could prevent healing time. So we were at a bit of a standstill. This year we have a solution we can all agree on.

I start physical therapy again next week and I am looking forward to it. I enjoy my physical therapy office, and they enjoy me because I am upbeat and funny! I also work really hard, they know that I am trying to build up the muscle strength to get back to daily living. I also usually have some funny story to tell them to help pass the time. I am full of funny stories that are all true. I have lived a very full and rich life.

Today my plan is to chill because I’m tired. I shouldn’t be tired, but I’m tired so I am going to take it easy today because I have to listen to my body. When it says it is tired, I probably have been pushing myself too hard.

Leave a Reply

