When Darth can’t breathe…..

So I sleep with a CPAP (continuous positive airway pressure) machine which means the machine pushes air to maintain my airway so I don’t stop breathing during the night. Well around 6:30am we lost power which means the machine cut off. Now this does not mean that all the sudden I suffocate because I can still breathe because air still flows through the tubing it’s just not pressurized and there is a clicking sound when the pressure stops. Well as you can imagine this woke me up. So I go to take the mask off and just as I take the mask off the power comes back on! Hmmm….that was odd but we live on a dirt road so stranger things have happened and I now have two options, put the mask back on and turn the machine back on and go back to sleep or just get up not knowing what time it is, but judging from the daylight outside somewhere between 6am and 7am. So I chose to wake up. Sometimes it’s just easier to get up than to try and fall back asleep.

So I get on trusty Facebook because that’s where we all get our up to the minute news and find out there was a car accident in my neighborhood and that could be causing flickering lights and small power outages..YUP! BINGO! We have a winner! Okay, now that we got that figured out we have had a shower, made some coffee, taken meds, gotten dressed and had breakfast…can I go back to bed??

It takes a lot of energy to do the simplest of tasks these days and by the time I have my morning routine done I’m ready for bed again. Today is a very special day. We are celebrating my Daddy’s 60th birthday. I am Daddy’s little girl for sure! Of course I’m sure my sister would say the same thing! My Dad taught me to program computers and he and I share a lot of the same interests. He would read me sci-fi books when I was little like Douglas Adams, “Lord of the Rings,” and to round things off he would also read me things like “Shakespeare.” My parents wanted to make sure I had a well rounded education so while I do love technology and I also was in the band, drama and sang in the church choir growing up. I also took up Spanish and in college have one of my two undergraduate degrees in Modern Languages/Spanish. So I think they did well for making sure I dabbled in a bit of everything!

Leave a Reply

