Game of Life

I was with my Mom who was shopping at Walmart and I saw the Game of Life, yes as in the board game, and I thought to myself I really suck at playing. I mean I am in my 30s and I don’t have a job anymore because chronic illness has stripped me of that, I almost died this year, my house was almost taken away and I have medical bills coming in by the droves….I really suck at this game. I want my little white car with my 2 pink people (yes remember I’m gay I got married to my beautiful wife, okay so I don’t totally suck at the game!) hopefully soon we can add a kid or two to the backseat. I am blessed beyond belief that I have an AMAZING wife. Seriously a girl couldn’t be luckier! My wife has stuck by my side when I am sure a lot of other people would have hit the road gone running and never ever turned back, Jenna however dug her heels in, grabbed my arm and said she was in it for the long haul and BOY did she mean it.

So I guess I don’t TOTALLY suck at the game of life. I do have student loans that we are working on paying off, but like so many college students who have lost jobs I have found repaying them more difficult than I thought it would be when I took them out. I mean I did spend 5 years gainfully employed in my field and those years it was easy to pay them compared to now! Can I have a time machine to go back in time and tell the then me to enjoy paying my student loans?

Can I also use that same time machine to go back on the day of my accident and tell myself NOT to go in the freezer and NOT to go on the ladder and NOT to pull down the 40lb box of doughnuts that would tear two of my lumbar discs? Of course if I did that I wouldn’t have started this blog because I wouldn’t have spent the last 2 years in chronic pain and I wouldn’t have all these life lessons now would I?…..

That’s the thing about the game of life we learn from everything, we learn from the good, the bad and the ugly. We think we know how to play and just when we think we know what we are doing the rules change. We get married, start a new job, lose a job, have a baby, get a divorce, you name it and the game of life changes, but it doesn’t mean we suck at the game, it just means we need to learn the new rules, roll with the punches and keep on trucking. You never know what’s around the next corner that’s what makes life so interesting.

Leave a Reply

