Food!

So growing up we had an interesting household when it came to food and cooking. My Dad is vegetarian, my Mom is not. So we often would have one meat main course and one vegetarian main course and the side dishes were usually vegetarian to make it easier. So I learned to cook with vegetable broth verses chicken stock, I learned to read labels to look for ingredients like lard. I was taught to be careful on which spoon went with which pot, etc.

So when I met my wife who has an allergy to MSG (monosodium glutamate) which most people will recognize as the stuff they add to Chinese food I didn’t have a problem reading labels to make sure the ingredients in the food I cooked for her didn’t have MSG in them. What surprised me is HOW MUCH of our food has MSG in it! WOW! What a shocker! So now several years later she is also gluten free so I’m reading labels for gluten and MSG.

We went grocery shopping yesterday and the store didn’t carry Cream of Wheat which obviously was for me not her! LOL As a child my family cooked a lot of oatmeal UGH!! like DOUBLE UGH, like can I virtual throw up?? I of course ate it because sometimes you don’t get a choice as a kid. We ate grits, I was good, we ate cream of wheat I was happy. Oatmeal even to this day as cooked cereal I do not like it. Now if you give me an Oatmeal Cream Pie, I’ll eat it, if you give me an Oatmeal cookie I’ll eat it. Mom puts Oatmeal in her meatloaf, that’s good. Somehow just plain ole cooked oatmeal makes my stomach turn. Don’t know why, and if I have to eat it I will, but not my favorite.

We also were talking yesterday about how I pretty much don’t eat scrambled eggs like I did before my blood clot, and I haven’t made them for Jenna either. I used to make them frequently, but that was also what I made the morning of my blood clot. I know that’s more of a mental thing than anything else. I also know that I got out of the habit of fixing her breakfast everyday because right after the blood clot I was so weak I couldn’t do it, and now she’s so used to doing it herself she just does it.

Christmas is a week away and I’m looking forward to all the yummy food we’ll have next week. Jenna got the small tree up yesterday, part of the village up and it’s starting too look a bit like Christmas in here. Now to do the rest of the cleaning this weekend and we’ll be set.

Leave a Reply

