Nutcracker

So I have this Nutcracker Ballet Music Diorama that poor Clara broke off. I don’t even remember how I accident broke Clara last year, I think I just hit it wrong…I mean I get really excited! Anyhow…so we pulled it out and it needed to be fixed, so I pull out the superglue and I carefully put a small dot and then I carefully find the right position so she will still be able to turn with the music. Here comes the fun part, I realize I don’t have anything to brace her while the glue dries, so I’m looking and looking and what do my eyes see why yes I think that will work…a CLEMENTINE! YUP! I used an orange! It worked perfectly too.

Sometimes you gotta use what you have, and speaking of clementines, they are really good this year, some years are better than others. We got a box for me and I gobbled them up, so last week we got a bigger box for me to hopefully last me longer than a couple of days. I love this time of year for the fresh citrus. Reminds me of when we went to visit my Great Aunt and Great Uncle down in Florida and they let us pick fresh grapefruits out of their backyard and they were sooo good, and HUGE.

There are certain childhood memories you just will always remember for one reason or another and that trip down to Florida at Christmas to see Great Aunt Margaret and Great Uncle Andy is one of them. We saw the lights at Disney World, we saw Great Uncle Andy at Olive Garden because that’s where he worked as a greeter. Great Uncle Andy made me eggplant Parmesan that was out of this world good, just like they make in Italy and we picked fresh grapefruit out of their backyard to name just a few things.

The holidays are upon us time for family and craziness of the hustle and bustle. Just remember to take time to breathe. Sometimes we forget to slow down, enjoy the lights, enjoy our family and remember the reason for the season.

Leave a Reply

