Memories

So there was this HUGE oak tree once upon a time, but it rotted out and so my parents had to cut it down, so I got this idea to make Christmas tree ornaments out of it. So I had Mom save me one of the smaller branches and we dried it out in the oven (low temperature oven of course!), and then my wife cut the branch and painted on it. Well I was discussing the ornaments with my Mom and she said wouldn’t it be lovely if we could find pictures of you and your siblings in the tree/by the tree to modgepodge to the back of the ornaments? So I was rummaging through the photos I have and it brought back so many wonderful PAIN FREE memories.

There were pictures from when we collecting clothes, pictures from when we did Easter baskets for the shut ins at church, when I graduated high school, our first house, when we moved, Thanksgivings, Christmases, and the spawn of Satan looking innocent (she isn’t by the way). I took a few pictures and scanned them a posted them on Facebook, I try not to do a whole lot of them just because its Facebook. I scanned a couple more just so I would have a digital copy, and I am going to download all the pictures to a flashdrive later so I have a 2nd copy. Always make backups.

I love looking at all the smiles, the joy, I have some pictures I’m talking in and I laugh because I look the same now. Some things never change. I think of all the pictures with my sister Karen in and how those are treasured memories because we’ll never get another Christmas with her. Her birthday is in 2 days and it will be spent in Heaven again this year. I remember how I always called her my early Christmas present. Karen and I had our differences, but she was my sister and I loved her.

My siblings and I fight but we always make up. We always have each others’ backs. We learned from a very early age that while we might fight and disagree we were family and family protect each other. We are here to love each other and be there for one another. I’m excited for Christmas and being with the family, having the joy, the laughter and the FOOD. You all know how much I enjoy the FOOD!

Leave a Reply

