Procrastination

Anyone else need like 3 more weeks to get ready for Christmas? I think I do! Actually my beautiful wife is AMAZING and got the rest of the gifts this week which was awesome because with the doctors appointments, rain and funeral I’ve been one busy chica! I have always been a procrastinator, I remember as a child my Dad telling me about my Science Fair project the importance of doing a little bit each day so it wouldn’t pile up on me at the end, and staying up very late the night before it was due….Of course I also remember staying up to the wee hours of the night typing term papers in college too….so maybe I never learned that lesson. Of course the fact that we still didn’t have all the Christmas present bought until last night….well we have been very busy and a lot has been going on, wait that just sounds like an excuse for wait for it…wait for it….procrastination!

I keep telling myself that I will be better next time, and get stuff ready ahead of time and somehow at the last minute I’m running around like a chicken with its head cut off, which in case you are a city person and never have seen it happen, they really do do that! It’s not just a saying! I even try making a list checking it twice just like Santa Claus, but somehow I can’t handle it for a small group, I don’t know how a guy handles it for billions of people. I bet Mrs. Claus is exhausted by the time New Years rolls around!

Yesterday I spent time with both of my siblings and my niece and nephew which is was really nice to spend time with all of them. My niece is a trip and she really reminds me of my sister when she was little. My nephew will be one soon and he is into everything and makes me laugh because he kept handing me this or that, then he would come back for this or that. My niece got a plastic workbench so my nephew had at one point given me a plastic hammer so I sang “If I had a Hammer” by Peter, Paul and Mary. He really liked that, and so he kept giving me the hammer and if I didn’t sing, he would take the hammer and give it back to me like okay SING! So I would sing and he would dance. It was really cute, and I realized that I didn’t remember all the words to the song, so I am going to have to look it up again, learn the words so next time I am better prepared.

Christmas is tomorrow the day we celebrate the birth of Christ. The real reason for season. Remembering that there was a small family traveling to be counted and there was no room in Inn, so the babe was born in a manager in the stable. The shepards who were keeping watch over their flocks were approached by an angel who told them of the good news and sent them to go find the baby. This child was the son of God born of the virgin Mary who would die on the cross for us. Tomorrow is a celebration of life, joy and family.

Leave a Reply

