Dueling Pair

When you have nerve pain there are some nerve pains that are constants. Some are randoms, and some are just down right annoying…wait they are all annoying….So there is this one spot right above my right knee that we call Ole Faithful because it has NEVER GONE AWAY. Other nerve pain spots will come and go, but Ole Faithful is always there is bug the snot out of me! There would be plenty of times I would smack the area and people would just look at me and I would smile sweetly and go don’t worry my thigh is numb. Which of course then I would get puzzled looks because if my thigh is numb then why am I smacking it….Well that is a really good question that we haven’t quite figured out yet, have I mentioned I am a bit of an enigma? So I have this nerve pain patch that is right above my knee on the right thigh that is numb any other time. Yes the area is numb unless I am having painful and I mean PAINFUL nerve pain. So why there? I have plenty of other leg retail space available, but the nerves right there like to bug the snot out of me.

So on my thigh that is numb I will get the more horrible nerve pain. This morning I woke up with it…it’s going to be a long day. Oh yeah did I mention I am on blood thinners now and so any smacking/hitting/etc is out of the question now? Yeah…. so because with the blood thinners I could bruise easier, which doesn’t seem to be happening to me, but to most patients it does (remember I am an enigma…) I am not to smack my leg to get rid of the pain. So I took my nerve pain medicine like I do every morning (I take a second dose in the evenings), I put pain cream on my knees and a bit on the patch per the doctor’s instructions for days like today and I PRAY. I pray that it doesn’t drive me to insanity.

It’s rainy, yucky weather outside which means my asthma is acting up, my arthritis doesn’t want to play nice and my blood clot is reminding me it’s still around, BUT I have to go to the clinic to get my INR checked so I will be venturing out today. It will be a good day. I just have to remember to take things nice and slow. One thing I have learned through this whole ordeal is to take things slower. It’s okay to say slow down, its okay to walk slower, it’s okay to say I’ll catch up. I don’t have to push myself to the point of exhaustion, it’s about self care and the balance of life.

Leave a Reply

