Too blessed to be stressed

So in case you haven’t heard Virginia is closed..seriously..okay maybe I’m being a bit over-dramatic again. Certain areas of Virginia, Maryland and DC are being dumped on with 1-2 feet of snow and everyone is losing their minds because this is unheard of for this area of the country. So other parts of the country like say Iowa are laughing. I know I have family there. Actually my cousin was teasing me slightly because that’s what family does about how everyone in Virginia sees a snowflake and flips out, but there is truth to the statement. People see a single snowflake and they forget how to drive, they buy all the milk, eggs, bread and toilet paper in all the local stores and we get round the clock news coverage on the single snowflake. We hear from dozens of people on the street about how the single snowflake affected their commute, how they are preparing for the single snowflake, etc. What do to if the power goes out due to the single snowflake, etc.

Right now I am guessing there is about a foot of snow on the ground here, it’s hard to tell because we got sleet last night for a couple of hours and with my knee I am not going outside with a ruler to measure. Normally I would because I would be curious to see, but with the high winds, and snow I probably would break something and my wife isn’t here to save me. Which brings me to the whole point of today’s entry too blessed to be stressed.

My wife had to work yesterday so Wednesday night she packed her bag and then she packed gluten free food to take with her to her brother’s house. Her brother lives a few minutes from where she works and he and his partner offer her a place to crash when bad weather hits. We are grateful that she can crash at his house. The other option is her work gets hotel rooms for the employees. Of course crashing with her brother and brother in law means that she gets to play video games, hang out and other shenanigans that usually make me laugh and shake my head. Family is family right? So yesterday her job closed early due to the storm and she was trying to decide if she could safely make it home. I told her to be safe because that’s what matters most to me. Sure I would rather be snowed in with my wife than be snowed in alone, but I also know how dangerous it can be driving that drive in the snow, I’ve done it before. So she had to get her stuff first and when she was headed over there she heard there was a bad accident that was blocking the main road she was going to have to travel on, so she decided to stay put. I think she made a good decision.

Sometimes we have to choose safety over what the heart wants which was she wanted to be curled up on the sofa next to me. However we are too blessed to be stressed because she was safe and sound at her brother’s house and I didn’t have to worry about her getting into an accident. Once the roads clear she’ll come home. She is having an awesome time hanging out with the boys and playing video games. The animals miss her and I keep posting periodic pictures for her so she can see the snow levels. I’ve learned an attitude of gratitude will get you much farther in life than dwelling on everything that sucks.

Leave a Reply

