Internal Clock Snooze button?

So for quite some time I only slept 7.5 hours. Now that wasn’t sound sleep, that wasn’t continuous sleep, but I would go to bed and I would wake up 7.5 hours from the time I went to bed. Didn’t matter what time I went to bed that’s when I would wake up (if no artificial alarm was set). So now that I am not working it seems that my internal clock has given me an extra 30 minutes since my blood clot issue. So apparently when you face off with death you get 30 extra minutes of sleep…HOWEVER I really don’t want to have to be that close to death every time I want some extra ZZZs I mean that was a really traumatic experience for my whole family for me to get a little extra rest.

So while I am really grateful that I seem to be getting 30 extra minutes of sleep yesterday I had to go to the doctor to discuss the whole Yeti in the bathtub situation and since I knew he would do blood work I didn’t make coffee so it would be fasting blood work. My appointment was early in the morning so that made it easier to fast. Well by the time I did the doctor’s appointment and got the blood work and then ate brunch it was too late for a cup of joe and not thinking about that I hadn’t had my daily dose of caffeine I had lemonade with lunch. I don’t drink soda because it taste funny because of one of the medications I am on, however if I had been thinking about the lack of caffeine in my life I would have drank a small amount of caffeinated soda just to give myself something and then drank the lemonade. I had thought about drinking tea, but due to the blood thinners I have to be careful about drinking green tea.

So much of my life right now is dictated by medical conditions and medication. I can’t eat this because of medication, I can’t do this because of medical condition but it doesn’t get me down..well most days! I really do try and focus on the positives. I try and focus on the stuff I still can do. I try and focus on the stuff I can change. I think of the Serenity Prayer

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

SerenityPrayer

I can accept that there are a lot of medical issues going on right now, I am working on losing weight to help improve my health (changing what I can), I am taking the medicines to help control the symptoms and going to all the medical appointments and know that I am not a doctor…not even on TV.

 

Leave a Reply

