The Pain Sleep Cycle

*Circle of Life Song ques* NOOOO not that! I said Pain/Sleep Cycle guys not the Circle of life!!! *Record scratches, Pumba farts-he is a warthog afterall* Yo, Pumba take Simba and get out of here! Leave the door open too, you STINK!!

Okay now that we got the place aired out a bit! Last night I was exhausted, the good exhausted from spending time with family and the kids, but exhausted none the less. The issue when you have chronic pain is that often when you get exhausted the more you WANT to sleep the more your body said NO WAY JOSE! So I tossed and turned a lot of the night, my heart rate was running high a lot of the day (in the 140 range). My oxygen levels were decent from what I could tell. I have a feeling the cardiologist may suggest doing a halter monitor for me to get a better idea what my heart rate and oxygen levels are on a consistent basis since I’m only spot checking, and when I’m sitting I’m in a normal range, when I’m standing they are much higher for the heart rate and the oxygen levels while still normal tend to be on the lower end of normal.

So this morning at 5:30am I woke up in pain, but I didn’t want to get up. Then at 6:45am I had the all too familiar electric shock feeling on the bottom of my one foot. So I caved. I got up, I took a shower and now I’m ready for bed again. The simplest tasks are exhausting for me still. I never thought I would seriously debate do I have the energy for a shower today? Now that is a question that I frequently will ask myself. Do I really want to shower? Do I have the energy to shower? What else is on the agenda for today? I actually try to shower on days where I have nothing on the agenda because it takes so much energy.

So I took my shower combed my hair, got dressed and then thought maybe I should change back in my PJs and just climb back into bed! That sounds like a much better idea today! But the coffee was made so I decided to drink my coffee and see if I felt better after my morning cup. I may still decide to ditch real clothes and go back to bed! I am supposed to go to a meeting this morning but I’m not sure I can muster the energy. I really feel like I haven’t slept however my Sleep Apnea machine told me that I got decent sleep so that’s good news. That’s another piece of my personal puzzle often I will sleep rough because of the pain and then the sleep apnea will cause me to sleep even worse.

I changed the format of the blog a bit to try and make it easier for people to find old posts. I realized that if you are trying to find posts on specific topics it might be nice to search by keywords. Hope that helps! It was also interesting to see what I write the most about, which is more which tags I use the most. Some tags I think I needs to use more! Put it all in prospective for me!

Enjoy your day! Enjoy your cup of joe! Compliment someone today! Attitude of Gratitude goes a long way!

Leave a Reply

