Birthday plans

My birthday is coming up in a couple of weeks so we are discussing plans, meal ideas and cake ideas.

20150320_203053

This was last year’s cake. I really like butterflies so a couple years ago Mom bought the Wilton® Cake pan and had a friend make me a cake, last year wifey did it for me. She’s a good wifey! This year the plan is to make same butterfly cake shape but have our 3 year old niece help decorate it! I can’t WAIT! I was at JoAnn Fabric’s and I bought a decorating tool so she will just have to press a button to get the icing to release. I have a bunch of tips already from when I decorated cakes and I use the bags, but I felt that my beautiful niece might get a little frustrated with the bags, so I got her something a little easier. We are also buying 4.5lb bucket of the pre-made icing so all I have to do is dye what will be used and we’re all decorating the cake! I really think it’s going to be fun and no matter what this cake will be filled with LOVE! Then for my actually birthday, we’re doing ham and a baked potato fixin’ bar with sour cream, butter, bacon bits, broccoli (for those who can eat it!), chili, cheese, and whatever else I think of between now and then! We will have everyone over to have dinner and then cake and ice cream. Family time is really important to us and the fact that we can all get together is even more special.

I have been so blessed to have my family at every step of this journey. Mom and Dad have helped us in lots of different ways but the amount of just moral support has been priceless. My Mother and Father in law are the same way. I can’t tell you how blessed I am to have married into a family that has opened their arms to me. I can call my brother in laws just to chat see what’s up, we go over to their house for game night, they are always up for coming over here, they like my cooking! My sister in law and I have chemistry and science geekiness in common and often make science jokes to each other via social media which of course my wife just rolls her eyes at, but it makes us laugh! My own sister and I often talk on the phone, I know she has my back no matter what. My baby brother who is several inches taller than me always comes to spend time with me on his breaks. I know how lucky I am to have a family that supports me, because not all families are like that.

Leave a Reply

