High Blood Pressure

According to the American Heart Association 80 million U.S. adults have been diagnosed with high blood pressure…that’s a lot of people who have high blood pressure! I am one of those adults. I have dealt with the issue for a long time, I am very familiar with taking my blood pressure at home, I have an app on my phone to chart my blood pressure. I print out the readings to give to my doctor for review when I see him. It is helpful for him because I have white coat syndrome so my blood pressure is always a bit higher in his office than it is when I take it at home, so when he has a month’s worth of readings to look at he can note changes/patterns verses a single reading here and there.

So when I had my very massive DVT and it went through my heart and plopped itself in both sides of my lungs to form my saddle pulmonary embolism, it enlarged the right side of my heart. Once that happened we started to notice that my blood pressure readings have been a lot better. So either the blood thinners are doing it, or the blood clot did it or both! Time will tell if my blood pressure stays this good! I’m just enjoying that my blood pressure readings are actually normal people’s readings for a change. Like I don’t have to hang my head in shame when the doctor checks I can be like hey doc look how good they are! I should get a gold star for these!!

Cardiac health is so important and I am really happy that my blood pressure has seemed to come back down to a normal level and my readings are a lot better than they have been. I have to take my wins where I can get them!

Leave a Reply

