Oh Kiwi you have betrayed me!

So we decided this year to try growing kiwi! Yeah most people would look at me like what? We bought a variety that can withstand cold temperatures and we are growing it in the backyard and if it does well, who knows maybe we’ll get another! So we were looking at the growth the other night and reading the tag and I see where it mentions that kiwi are a good source of Vitamin K…wait WHAT!!!! So I look at the wife and go umm nooo…that can’t be! Not my kiwi!! So I do some research and lo and behold..it’s true!

So a couple of weeks ago one of the stores I like to shop at, had an AMAZING sale on you guessed it! KIWI!!! So I bought 8! Now in case you are wondering I can sit and eat 2 or 3 at a time, so 8 really was not that many for the household. So between me sitting and eating them, fruit salad for the wife’s work and dehydrating them I probably ate 5 or 6 out of the 8 I bought. So in this time frame I had 2 INR checks and my INR was REALLY LOW, and they asked me about Vitamin K foods and of course I go NOO I don’t eat them because I honestly had NO IDEA my kiwi was betraying me!

So I am going to have to breakup with my beloved kiwi until my blood thinner treatment is up and then I’ll probably gored myself on them along with spinach and broccoli! I’m going to be eating the weirdest meals once I’m off blood thinners! The only good news is that the plant in the backyard shouldn’t produce fruit this year, it should start producing next year, so I shouldn’t have to worry about lusting over fresh kiwi in my backyard that I cannot eat. I mean that would be more than I could handle! I might have to beg the doctors to let me eat just one! Please give me more blood thinner so I can eat my KIWI!!! IT’S SO FRESH! It’s calling my name!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

