The death of me

I think I have mentioned before that I am super allergic to Lysol™ like I go into anaphylaxis allergic. The first time I remember having a serious reaction I was in high school and one of the guys in band sprayed some Lysol™ on some equipment and my eye swelled shut! The next time I had breathing problems and ever since especially with the aerosol varieties I have immediate breathing problems that can get pretty severe. So I use other cleaning products.

That being said I don’t expect people around me to use other cleaning products but my friends are aware of my allergy because it is so severe. My doctors offices are also aware of it because it is so severe. I also had to let my university know because they had cans of it in the bathrooms and people would spray it and one time I had an asthma attack in the middle of class because I used the bathroom and someone sprayed it while I was in the bathroom. Thankfully I was not near the person or else I would have had to go to the hospital that time, it was a close call!

So when someone wants to use Lysol™ I leave. I will not jeopardize my health for it. It’s nothing against the person, I just remove myself. Tonight I was sitting watching a show with my friend and another friend got up and was straightening up. All the sudden I SMELL IT. I smell that all too familiar smell, so I look over to the counter and my enemy sits with the top wide open, so I get up tell my friends good bye and leave.

I get outside and the coughing begins. I coughed and coughed and thought this is why I hate that crap. I did make it the short walk home, and then I made it to the bathroom (I was afraid I would vomit. Often after a violent coughing spell I vomit). I was able to calm down and so far so good, and I am thankful it was just the wipes. The wipes don’t tend to have as bad an effect as the sprays do.

So now I stay up a bit to make sure my lungs are recovered before going to bed because it’s late. At least I had seen the show so I know how it ends.

Leave a Reply

