Not dry in time….maybe….

So it’s summer and it’s HOT! What happens when you are hot? YOU SWEAT! Oh yeah it’s basic biology people! So now I am wearing neoprene braces on both legs so they sweat even more, which means they need to be washed regularly, makes sense. So last night I washed said neoprene braces. This morning I have a medical appointment which is pretty par for the course with the upcoming surgery and THEY AREN’T DRY…..ummm oops? You see what else happens when its summer and HOT like really HOT is we get random thunderstorms at night. I did not calculate this into my drying time NEEDS of said braces….

So the braces are currently laying on a towel in front of a fan hoping they dry out before I have to put the hinges back in and wear them or else I am going to have to put on wet braces which will be kind of gross….the one brace was almost dry this morning when I checked it the other one is heavier and NOT SO MUCH….. yeah…..I just imagine wet bathing suit feeling but on my knees…

So we’ll see when it’s time to bounce out of here if they are dry or not and I have learned a valuable lesson! There is some wise quote out there about experience being the best teacher or something like that… I guess now I have the experience of when its really hot outside and there are thunderstorms and I have a morning medical appointment I might want to re-think washing my braces the night before. However knowing me and knowing my memory problems you probably will see a similar blog about this same problem sometime in the future and you will think didn’t she already do this once before? And go back and look and then laugh and think didn’t she have déjá vu? The answer is probably NO just to clear that up now.

I will say that walking around this morning sans braces is odd and a bit scary because I have gotten so used to having them on first thing in the morning that my legs have almost forgotten how to walk around for long periods of time without them, which is odd since at physical therapy I don’t wear the braces. However I am home so I guess my brain knows that they should be on, so I feel out of sorts. My knees definitely feel naked!

Leave a Reply

