58 ounces of liquid…..

So if you have read about my pets you know that I own a cat. A very special rescue cat, but a cat….so let me back up for a moment to let you know that I am sleep deprived today (this will be important in a moment). I went to bed around 11pm, I was up briefly at 1:30am to hear about how wifey was having trouble sleeping, then I got up at 5:30am which has been the norm this week (more on the internal clock saga LATER). So back to Creme the cat…so Creme likes to chew on plastic she doesn’t eat the plastic just chew on it (which yes I know isn’t healthy and trust me when I tell you we have been trying to correct this behavior for years now), so she’s sitting beside me and there is a plastic bag also sitting on the loveseat and she is chewing on it. I tell her to stop, she stops temporarily, and then as soon as she thinks I’m not paying attention she tries again. So I think I will go feed her early, normally I don’t feed her until 7am, but since she is chewing on the plastic maybe this will encourage her to stop.

THIS WAS MY MISTAKE! Remember I am sleep deprived…I have not had my cup of coffee yet. I have had breakfast I have make it that far in the morning routine, the coffee is made, but I have not made it back into the kitchen to pour a cup of coffee. So I pour too much food into her bowl because I am sleep deprived and overshot how much to pour in the bowl, then walking out out I trip over her water bowl. So we have one of those self-water type of bowls for her that holds like 50oz of liquid..it flips over on its side (of course), I stumble like a drunk out of the bar at 2:30am. I try to regain my balance without dislocating something and/or breaking something, turn around slowly and put her water bowl upright again but not before 48oz of water has now poured on the floor. All I can think is how fast does that thing empty? I mean it was on the floor for like 30 seconds??!!! I know I’m slow but GEEZ!

So now I am getting a towel to clean up the water that I have no gloriously poured all over the floor. I am carefully cleaning that up, Creme of course is just looking at me like that was MY WATER how DARE YOU! Oh give it a rest cat! You prefer fresh water! I tried to give her my best teacher face to make her go away, but it didn’t work. So as I am cleaning it up I swear the water is multiplying, and growing and becoming a bigger puddle, so the first towel is now drenched, so I get a second towel and that towel is now drenched and I’m thinking if I don’t get it cleaned up with a 3rd towel I’m calling Mary Poppins! I mean it was just her water bowl and I’m pretty sure there shouldn’t be this much water from one little bowl!

I also think Creme was secretly laughing at me because of everything. I wouldn’t be surprised they say that cats take after their owners and wifey laughs at me all the time! So I FINALLY get all the water cleaned up after what feels like Noah’s flood! So then I know I need to get a cup of coffee to not pass go do not collect $200! So I get my cup, I start to pour the cup of coffee and I miss and pour it on my shirt….WOW! Did I mention that I am sleep deprived today? So I try again a little more carefully and I made it IN the cup this go round. So now I am working on drinking my coffee but I promise a nap is in my future!

Leave a Reply

