High Fiber Foods + Coumadin = A Delicate Balance

I am obese. I have been working on losing weight since 2014. I found a high fiber meal plan/lifestyle that I LOVE. I have been very successful at losing the weight on said meal plan, THEN comes deadly blood clot in October 2015!!!! *Que super dramatic music* So it’s been a bit of a struggle losing weight since October. I am going to be really honest because a lot of the foods that I got really accustomed to eating like spinach, kale, spring mixed salads ALLL are high Vitamin K foods that you have to really watch when you take Coumadin.

So let me explain a little bit about how they get rid of blood clots, so the body will naturally get rid of a blood clot by breaking it down. Sometimes doctors will try and break up a blood clot, but in my case they felt like trying to break up my massive blood clot would kill me, or cause me to stroke so they decided that giving me blood thinners and seeing if my body could naturally break up the clot would be the safest choice. So they put me on Coumadin which is rat poison. Yes, I am not kidding you, scientist found that by giving rats Coumadin it thinned their blood until they bled out, hence why you have to have regular blood checks to make sure your blood is not too thin!

Vitamin K and Coumadin are enemies (of sorts) because Vitamin K reverses the effects of Coumadin! Which is why you have to watch what foods you are eating that are high in Vitamin K to make sure you are not accidentally making your blood too thick again. For every patient depending on condition there are two basic ranges for INR (International Normalized Ratio) 2.0-3.0 or 2.5-3.5. Now some people might have a bit different based on their own medical needs but those are the two most common ranges.

So I get this massive blood clot and I’m told to stop eating Vitamin K foods until we can get my INR up, so I have to stop eating broccoli, spinach, kale, spring mix, brussel sprouts, greens (collard, turnip, mustard), and many other green foods that I had been packing my diet with! So I also know now that those foods thicken your blood naturally (just saying!) So how am I going to keep up my high fiber diet without eating those foods?

So there are LOTS of other sources of high fiber like beans, fruits, OTHER veggies! So I started looking at foods like sweet potatoes, beans (I eat a lot of beans now!), fruits (in moderation because of their higher sugar content), and because we are gluten free I eat quinoa. So it is still possible to eat a high fiber diet when you are on blood thinners, you just have to get a bit creative at times! I will also do things like add peppers to quinoa and beans (think rice and beans but quinoa has more fiber than rice!). Add some extra fiber to foods by adding in more vegetables to what you are making, adding in white beans to dishes a lot of times works because white beans will soak up the flavor of whatever you are cooking. I am really happy its summer again because there are lots of fresh foods at the local Farmer’s Markets! What’s better than going and helping out the local farmers?

So next time you are making your favorite dish think about ways you could add a bit more fiber to it, you might be surprised what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

