I love YOU

Can you look yourself in the mirror and say “I love YOU!” and then REALLY mean it? Have you ever really even thought about it? I mean we turn to our children, our spouse, our sisters, our brothers, our parents, aunts, uncles, grandparents, friends, etc and say “I love you” all the time and sincerely mean it. What happens when you look in the mirror at yourself? Can you look at yourself and really love the person staring back at you?

I recently came across a quote I wrote about scars that said “A scar is a tattoo with a better story.” Now this was written before my 4 spinal surgeries and I had to chuckle because all of my scars that I have now do have good stories attached to them an I do still feel that way, but BOY I had no idea when I wrote that 6 years ago what my life had planned for me! However I’m not ashamed of my scars. I know they each come with a story that is better than my tattoo. Now my tattoo has a good story too, but somehow my scars from all these surgeries seem to top my tattoo story now.

Someone recently asked me if with all the scars from all the surgeries if I would be in a one piece bathing suit now, and I go NO! I’d wear a bikini I’m not SCARED! I’m working too hard to lose all this weight to hide in a one piece! They laughed. Being comfortable in your own body is important. We have too many outsiders telling us we need to look like some airbrushed model, but the truth is we need to love our self.

There is nothing wrong with self improvement. I am working on losing weight so I am at a healthier weight, but I can still love myself. I do not need to hate myself in this moment. I can love myself and still lose weight. I can love myself and understand that the scars tell a story of where I have been, the journey I have been on. We often say we need to remember history so we don’t repeat it, when talking about our own history we need to remember that we don’t have to be stuck in the past.

There are things we might not be proud of, things we might wish didn’t happen, but they are in the past. We can honor those events without being stuck. We can honor ourselves and still seek self improvement. We can love ourselves and not be stuck. We can look in the mirror and say “I love you” and MEAN IT! I often use humor as a way to deflect my emotions, but I do love me. I know I may not have the easiest life, but I am proud of where I am. I know I have dealt with some really hard medical decisions, but I have overcome them and I am learning how to navigate.

I can look in the mirror and love who I am. I can look at my scars and not be ashamed. I have a tale to tell and not be ashamed of the tale. I am continuing to move forward and I want to remember that each time things don’t go the way I expect it’s just another plot twist! So today go look in the mirror and say “I love you!” The trick is to keep doing that until you really mean it!

heart

Leave a Reply

