Finding Zen

So often the hardest part about being chronically ill is finding your zen. You spend a lot of time waiting for the “other shoe to drop.” You either have things going really well and you are waiting for something to fall apart or everything is falling apart and you are waiting for what else could possibly go wrong. The real trick is to find a neutral space in all the medical chaos you often find yourself in and just try to stay in a peaceful mindset.

It’s not easy and I am no expert on this one! I often find myself drifting into the chaotic world of what could possible go wrong next! I really have found humor to be a good outlet for myself because if I can keep laughing I find I stress less. Notice I said less, not that I don’t stress, because I am human, but I stress less. I try to explain how I feel to the doctors but even after so many years of the pains it’s hard sometimes to explain what is going on. It’s hard to explain how I feel, I get tripped up over my own thoughts and words and the more I get tripped up the more anxious I get. The more anxious I get the more I get tripped up and the cycle continues.

I think for me I have learned to just pause, take a minute to collect my thoughts and start over. I try to take a deep breathe and collect my thoughts and realize that I don’t have to be perfect. I just have to explain the best I can. No one can feel the pain like I can so I have to be my own advocate but if I’m not telling them the whole truth they can’t help me. So sometimes I just have to let them know I’m overwhelmed. Let them know how I’m feeling and then go on from there.

No one is asking you to be superman or superwoman. They are just asking you to be you! They are asking you to be truthful and honest and help them help you. Learning to be gentle with yourself is hard, but worth it.

Leave a Reply

