Who’s not ready for fall?

I used to love the changing of the leaves, the cooler temperatures. I mean there is some real beauty watching the leaves cascade down…now I see them and I think fall hazard..they get wet, I’m going to slip! I’m constantly watching for branches, leaves, pine cones, acorns, etc. Everything has now become this natural obstacle course that I didn’t train for! I mean who thought I looked like I wanted to compete in some Ironman? I did not sign up for this! I mean I can barely walk to the car on a good day! (Okay maaybe that’s a bit of an exaggeration, but there have been days that I have tripped over my own two feet!)

So the wifey is planning on going roller skating this week and I was telling the physical therapist this and he looks at me and I go no I am not going with her, and he gives this huge like HUGE sigh of relief. I laugh and go hey I know my limitations I barely walk without hurting myself! He laughed and asked if I was always this accident prone and I go NO! I actually did several sports as a child! Gymnastics, soccer and swimming to be exact! He was a bit surprised I think. I’ve just become the world’s biggest klutz as an adult!

So with fall comes the cooler temperatures which means the hardware in my back is starting to hurt. This is the part of the year I dislike. I also have lost the weight so I don’t have as much insulation! Actually that part is a good thing, and I’m glad for that part! I am pulling out all my sweaters and hoodies which are now about 3 sizes too big for me, but they are sweaters and hoodies and it doesn’t really matter if they are 3 sizes too big for me. We are in the process of buying me a new winter coat however because that is 2 sizes too big for me and it looks rather ridiculous, so we’re going to fix that situation. I have jackets that are the right size, or at least only a size too big, but the winter coat definitely need an upgrade.

So I am going to sit over here sipping on hot cocoa and wearing my hoodies and sitting under my blanket that I pulled out of storage because that’s what I do when it starts to get cold again, I bundle up because I’m always cold! They laugh at physical therapy because I usually have about three layers on and I have to undress before my appointments because I only need one layer to do my exercises. But hey I admit I am cold, I take no shame in that!

Leave a Reply

