Let me sing you a song!

So talking in my sleep has been going on since I was a child. I would get embarrassed at summer camp because I would talk in my sleep and the other kids would tease me. I have always talked in my sleep, I can’t help it. If I could I would, but you get what you get with me! I have some funny stories from college years when I would talk in my sleep. I scared the crap out of one of my roommates when I whispered her name in my sleep, she wakes up asks me what I need/want, I whisper her name again she asks me again what I want, I shout her name, she shouts back and I start snoring….needless to say I was asleep the entire time.

So I am used to people complaining about my talking while slumbering. I shrug and apologize. I have had the sleep tests done and was diagnosed with sleep apnea. I wear a cpap mask and use a cpap machine every night, and even with that I will still talk on occasion. Well in the last couple of weeks apparently I needed to raise the bar…I have decided that talking in my sleep is not enough. I need to start singing in my sleep. My poor wifey tells me the other morning that I was singing VERY LOUDLY to her in my sleep. Of course I laugh at her and ask if I was at least singing in tune, this does not amuse her. She said she kept gently elbowing me to get me to stop which would quiet my concert for a bit, but then I would start again much to her dismay.

Thankfully she understands that I was not doing this on purpose and she is very loving and did not try to smoother me in my sleep…of course with the cpap mask she would have had to remove it first because placing a pillow over the mask would not have done much good. So we have no idea why I have changed my normal routine of just talking in my sleep to now singing in my sleep, but I find it hilarious, my wife not so much. Of course I’m sleeping through it, she is waking up unable to sleep so I can see why this would be troublesome.

My sleep disorder doctor does believe there is something more going on and we are working on getting more testing done, but we hit a roadblock with the insurance company. So until we can get them to approve the testing he wants done the wifey is going to have to deal with my singing in my sleep. Of course since I know that I am wearing the mask I am making sure to sing loud enough that she can enjoy it, which I think is very kind! I mean if I am going to put on a personal concert at 2am I think she should be able to enjoy every second of it…don’t you agree?

Leave a Reply

