Surprise Surgery

So in the last 3 weeks I’ve been in the ER 3 times. The first time I was diagnosed with cellulitis in my leg, was put on antibiotics and it cleared up. Then I was on a Lovonox bridge (blood thinner shots) so I could have my IVC filter removed. I started having stomach pains and spasms. So I go to the ER, the doctor does an x-ray, does an ultrasound and tells me I’m fine. They tell me to take some over the counter medication and send me home.

I take the over the counter medication and in 12 hours I am weak and no better. So we go back to the ER. They run my blood tests again and my iron and blood counts have dropped dramatically in the 12 hours since I was last there. So they run more tests. They then tell me that I have abdominal bleeding. So I’ve gone from you’re fine you are wasting my time to you could be bleeding to death….yes that is my life.

So they start to scramble to figure out where the bleeding is coming from. They do another ultrasound and figure out that I have a hemorrhagic ovarian cyst. So now they are asking if I will accept a blood transfer, and are prepping me for emergency surgery. Apparently because I was on the Lovonox bridge the cyst ruptured and never stopped bleeding.

So we went into surgery and I came out like a champ! I lost a LOT of blood. I am really bruised due to the blood loss, but I am on the mend now. My message in all this is- you know your body. I knew after 12 hours that I was worse, I knew I needed to go back. If I hadn’t gone back I could have bled to death.

I am really happy that I knew to go back, that I went back and they found the real problem. I wish I didn’t have to have another surgery this year, but I am feeling better. I am taking life slow right now, making sure to rest. When you need to slow down life has a way of making sure you get the message!

 

Leave a comment