Let’s try Plan C?

So in order to get my IVC filter out I had to come off my blood thinners, go on a Lovonox bridge, and then be on a combo of my regular blood thinners and Lovonox shots…easy right? So I go back to the clinic to be checked and my INR was LOW. As in risk of developing a blood clot low. *Insert unhappy face* So now I’m looking at the pharmacist and she’s looking at me trying to figure out what to do. Well the first thing is to call my hematologist’s office to get a re-authorization for the Lovonox shots because OF COURSE I am out of those. Then the question is how much of a booster dose(s) to give me of my normal blood thinners to give me and when to re-check. Well then the 2nd problem comes in…this weekend is Memorial Day which means the clinic is closed Friday and Monday for the holiday. So we couldn’t check me in the right time frame.

Blood thinners are funny things. The way they work is they slow the time it takes for your blood to clot. So it takes a couple of days for a booster dose to take effect. So if they check me too soon and then up my dose they could then give me too high of a dose, but if they wait too long then I could stay low for too long and risk developing a blood clot which is the whole reason I am on the blood thinners in the first place. If I still had my IVC filter in we wouldn’t be as worried because I would have that protection there, but it was just taken out! Oh isn’t this Murphy’s law?

So the hematologist’s office said for me to come in their office for a check on Friday so we could see where I am at. So we got everything straightened out, but it’s frustrating to say the least! I really wanted things to be a-okay! I mean I really didn’t want to have to continue giving myself shots. I mean I am pretty sure no one voluntarily gives themselves shots unless they have to!

I know my INR will come back up, it’s just taking a little longer than normal. I figure this is just another life lesson I am supposed to be learning, I mean there are worse things in life. Of course if I have any signs of clots I am to go directly to the ER DO NOT pass Go and Collect $200!

Vampire

 

Leave a Reply

